Month: April 2006

  • ANOTHER DAY BEHIND THE LENS

    Today we completed the photo shoot at the school. We’ll have some pics from that to post in the next few days. We were wiped out – an afternoon in the hot sun takes it out of you!

    We then went to our dear friends, Ron & Kathy Berger, to relax, visit and eat chinese food. They have beautiful property.

    Even tho Kerri and I were wiped out, we couldnt help ourselves and took some more pics. I spotted a rare, but extremely beautiful creature along the way. There is only one of these in all of God’s creation, and I was fortunate enough to capture it!

    IMG_9012 

     Here is my favorite that Kerri took:

    IMG_9160 

    Lindsay also got a great shot:

    IMG_7180 

    After dinner I went out for a walk along the river with my camera and tripod. I found this scene:

    IMG_9022 

    Keep watching here as well as our website for more posts and pictures!! We are having the time of our lives - it is such a blast to work together!

     

  • STUDIO’S A-COMIN!!

     As you know from our last posts, we had the opportunity to use some studio lights from a friend of ours, and I fell in love…..We’ve been looking at a light set, and hope that we will be able to purchase one soon. It isnt a cheap addition, but lights make all the difference in the world.

    So we are moving one step at a time. Today we purchased a backdrop frame, and the backdrop we ordered arrived today!!  For now, our lights are our twin Canon flash strobe units. They give enought light to take pictures, but not enough to give me the depth of field a full light set delivers.

    But we had to test out the backdrop!! So tonight I had Kerri be my model for the evening. We got some great shots!! I put together a few storyboards. This first one is our favorite!!

    Kerri 3

    Kerri wanted me to post some before and after Photoshop pics. Most photographers dont show their raw files, but we’ll make an exception tonight!! Thise storyboard shows the raw pic in the left and a couple other versions – it all ends up making a good storyboard too!


    Kerri 1 


     And one more…


    Kerri 2 


    We’ll have more pics posted over the next few weeks!


    Tomorrow we have another shoot – we are finishing up the school pictures we started last week when we did the elementary children. Tomorrow is the Junior High and High School – we know it’s going to be a blast!! Next week I’ll post some pics (or maybe a slideshow…) from all the pictures.


    Thank you for stopping by!! Keep watching for pics. We also have two new galleries up on our website. – under the Gallery tab – From the family shoot we did last week and a shoot we did for our neice, Sara. check it out!



  •  


    Wow what a few studio lights won’t do!!!!!!!!


    Dave


     


    Kelly and dave 


    Kellyanddave


     





    Dave and Kelly


     Not too bad!!! We are seriooously in love wh the idea of getting a studio lighting set up now!!!


    Tomorrow….will be our niece…so stay tuned for that!y too!


    Love , Mark & Kerri 






     


    Be sure to watch this video it so funny!


    http://www.koreus.com/media/men-in-coats.html


     

  •  


    EDIT: Photoshoot pics will be up later tonight!


     


    Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away….


    duck xing


    I absolutely love this picture….It reminds me that when we are just going about our daily lives He watches over us….and our children.



    “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?”
    Romans 8:35

     

  •  


    We are having Robin coming over today to set up her studio lighting. We have 3 models today…Yipee will post pics later! This is going to be fun!!! 


    I do have a question for you all….does your pastor preach topically or expositorially? Please tell me what you like like or prefer between the two.


    Love Kerri

  • EDIT – This is an update from Mark:

    I saw the doc yesterday about my eyes, and he wants to do an “enhancement” surgery to correct my vision. But before he does that he gave me some contacts to wear that will replicate the vision after the surgery so we can see if it will help. He wants to do monovision for me – for those who don’t know what that means, one of my eyes will be corrected for distance, and the other for up close. Your brain learns how to combine these two signals and you then can see up close as well as far away without glasses….thats the theory, but he wants to see if it will work for me. If it does, he would correct my dominate eye for close vision, since my work depends on seeing up close (the LCD on the back of the camera, my computer screen, etc.) and my other eye for distance.

    Well, I came home Thursday night and put the contacts in, and while it was a little weird, I was able to see much better than i had in a long time. Today I put the contacts in again, and we had the photo shoot. My vision seemed harder today, and I was wondering if it was going to work. If the monovision doesnt work, then my eyes will be enhanced to touch them up for distance, meaning i will have to get a prescription for reading glasses for all up close work.

    Tonight i went in to take my contacts out, and discovered that one of them was missing!! So, that means that my vision today seemed weird as i only had one contact in. I know they were both in, but somewhere along the way one popped out!!!

    So tomorrow I’ll put them both in and get another test. I need to edit the pictures down from the school pictures we shot today, so it will be a good test of up close work.

    BTW – we got some GREAT pics of the kids. I’ll posts some soon. Today was the elementary grades. Next Friday we shoot the Junior High and High School. It will be a blast!!


    _______________________________________________________________


    So excited we are going to be doing school pictures for our son’s school tomorrow and next Friday….tomorrow we get to do the Elementary grades….next week High School. It is a small private school so it shouldnt be daunting…But I am really looking forward to it!!! Should be fun!!!


    I could use fun right about now!


    Then this weekend we are doing some fun young edgy stuff with some models we are going to go around town and in our studio…our good friend Robin is bringing over her studio lighting!!!! Yay!!! Cause ours is just pitiful!


     


    PS….Mark finally got to see the eye dr. after months of not being able to see clearly either up close or distance since his laser surgery in Sept. They are talking now about doing either monovision surgery or enhancements it all depends on how he sees with the contacts they gave him today to mimic the monovision…


    Please pray for him it has been so crushingly depressing for him…he is soooo ready to see clearly again…  can you imagine trying to do photography!


    God Bless


    Love Kerri


     


     

  •  edit: Help!  I am running into a problem with at least 10 of my subs…whenver I go there I get a box pop up that says “Click to run an ActiveX control on this page”    then when I try to close the box or click OK it shuts down my browser!!!  And it wont let me read the page or comment ..nothing!!!  What is this activeX thing and how do I get it off????  And why is it Suddenly doing this on their sites?


    So some of you that I cant get to….it is because it wont let me access your particular sites…


    So far I have encountered it on these 10 sites:


    Lucia
    Donald 777
    Just Passing Through
    LisaBabie
    Resonant Grace
    Much PeacetoYou
    Bizzymommy4
    Razehell
    asheepintheflock
    Steven Fox 


    Sorry guys!!


     


    Kerri


     


     

  •  


    My friend Kathy invited me over to her place yesterday….she has a creek that runs along the back of her yard with trails that stretches in both directions east and west of her place for about a mile each way.  Right now there is tall grass and things are blooming everywhere…Kathy knows Lindsay and I love this kind of photography so what a joy it was to go and do this for fun! We had to hurry because Lindsay had class so we only got to shoot for less than an hour … but we got some walking in and some fresh air and got to say hello to a few dogs on their walks and saw some ducks and poppies and a neat little waterfall…. Thanks for calling us Kathy!


    Take a walk with me….


    IMG_2525


     


    IMG_2524


     


    IMG_2510


     IMG_2572


    IMG_2540


    IMG_2528 


     


    IMG_2544



    IMG_2547



    IMG_2559



    IMG_2560


    IMG_2578 


     


    Fun stuff….wish I had more time to get some really cool close ups and details


     

  •  


    Hey just catching you all up to our life right now!


    41587304PGOKhY_ph 


    * Business wise -we are moving right along…we are glad for the work and glad for the down times too so we can get our infrastructure up in our business before we get too busy!  Getting jobs has been evenly paced….so far. God has been so faithful in getting us jobs….its so much fun! Mark and I so enjoyed doing the family portraits we did last week…I think I would be happy just doing portraiture work….weddings can be stressful….


    We have a few things on deck…. we are going to be doing school pictures for Brian’s school this Friday and next Friday….and tonight we got a call from a bride which would be out of state but I wont say too much right now in case it doesn’t work out….but wow we would be so stoked!!!  


    We also have a number of portrait work coming up…another Family Portrait and 2 Senior Pictures….and of course we have a wedding in July that we are looking forward to!


    So anyway if you haven’t seen the slideshow of our “family” we did last week be sure and check it out in our last post…Mark did a great job putting it together!


    mother and children praying 


    *On a spiritual note we are doing an 8 week study with the kids on Prayer….it is so good God has already moved greatly in the midst of our family….and we are going through so many changes right now…I think alot of promises God has made are coming to fruition. The seeds sown are showing forth….what is inside. I am personally doing a spiritual, and physical 8 week program. I figure it would be good to do them together. So far I have lost 4 lbs….and went to the Dr. and had alot of blood work done so I can rule out some things and hopefully find out what it is I am dealing with. Mark is getting over the flu and working hard on photoshop/slideshow business stuff….Lindsay is getting ready to buy a major purchase with her own money she has made working part time this past year…. a laptop! Brian is losing his drum teacher . Joel has been an amazing teacher….we are sorry to see him go but we know God has alot ahead for him and his family….so if anyone knows a local drum teacher we could consider….let us know!


    Well that is the news this week…..


    Have an awesome week … God bless you!!


    Love Kerri  


      


     


    “L i f e  o f f e r s  m a n y   c h o i c e s.  E t e r n i t y   o f f e r s  o n l y   t w o .”


    – Author Unknown


     

  • FAMILY PHOTO SLIDESHOW

       Happy Resurrection Day!!!


     


     I’ve been sick the past few days, and just now finished the slideshow from the family photo’s we took recently.


    McKenzie-Xanga


        It is done ….you can see it by clicking here.


    Their kids were so stinkin’ cute, it was hard to whittle down to the pictures in the show.