February 26, 2007

  • Names for Grandparents

     




    IMG_0884


    If you were a grandparent what name would you use? I found this page when I was looking for names for Kerri and I to be called:


     


    Names for Grandparents


    With Baby Boomers becoming grandparents, the stodgy old codger and plump, cookie-baking white frizzy haired grandparents are getting a massive facelift. Tired of the old standbys of Granny, Grandma, Grandpa etc. today’s grandparents are coming up with new names in droves!

    The most common names for grandparents (at least in the USA):


    Bubbe, Nana, Grandma, Granny, Gran, Gram, Grammy, Papa, Grandpa, Granda, Granddad, Gramps


    We also have a page for Grandparents’ Names in other languages.


    There is also a long list of stories here by other people of what they are/were called and why. Too long to post here but a good and funny read…


    Here is the link


    Have a good day!!


     

Comments (12)

  • My little cousins call their grandma ‘MiMi’. I think that is such a cute name for a grandma to be called. I always think that having 2 “Grandma’s” and 2 “Grandpa’s” gets confusing. In my family we don’t say “Grandma Judi” or “Grandma Kitty” it is just Grandma, so by having 1 “Grandma” and maybe a “MiMi” it makes things so much less confusing. Have fun picking out the names.

    (My friend always called her grandma “Granma” just left out the ‘d’ sound.)

    Enjoy the new grandson! :love:
    Rachel

  • :lol: Ready for a laugh?  I am going to be called Mammy and my hubby will be Pappy…:yes::giggle:Of course, it could be a situation like what happened when our son was born.  My husband’s mom was determined to be called the French word for grandmother–I won’t try to spell it right now!  Anyhooooooooo, our Kaleb blurted out “Gibber”:eek: when he first began talking…And so, Gibber it was and Gibber remained her name for the grandchildren that followed! :yes: I have never met another Gibber! 

    Sending much love–

    Paula:heartbeat:

  • I’ve always like Gram, or Grams…I’m all for different!

  • :lol: I would call you guys my inheratance!:laugh::laugh::laugh:

  • You two look like “Nana and Papa”. And what a beautiful baby!!!! So now you have the fever!!!  hahahaha! My grandbabies call me BooBoo…..lol!

  • brynn called her grandpa “bampa” it was her attempt at grandpa and it stuck!

  • :sunny: I only had one Grandpa and that is who he was…Grandpa.  And since I’m far from being a grandmother…I have no idea what to suggest.  Now that I’ve written them out….those names do look ‘old fashioned’ …. I like Randy’s suggestion the best. :lol: :lol: :lol:   ~Carolyn :heartbeat:

  • I  think we’ll go with Gramma and Grampa…:love:

  • My kids have 4 sets of grandparents and the names get a little confusing.  At the age of 2, they are all her grandparents.  Now that she is almost 3, she decides what she wants to call them.  One set is Nana & Papa, two sets are addressed using their first names after the title and the last set is just grandma and grandpa.  I think she decided based on how often she spent time with each of them.  I can’t wait to hear what you two decide on !!

  • I think Kerri should be called Grandma Pretty (for obvious reasons!) and maybe Papa for you. Okay, Nana is my next favorite!!! How’s little Jayden, Kelly and Dave doing? Can’t wait to see more photos!!! :heartbeat: :heartbeat: ~ Dawn

  • So what are you two going by ~ I think the tendency is that the children call you whatever you call yourself, or their parents call you when referring to you. Mike and I (and Tristen & her parents) use the old fashioned Grandpa & Grandma (which comes out sometimes as Granpa & Granma – close enough!). The important thing is . . . they call! :love:

  • What did you decide on? You both are going to make the sweetest, most awesome grandparents EVER! :heartbeat: :heartbeat: ~ Dawn

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *