August 22, 2008

  • Personal Blog

     

     

    Hey everyone!! How has your summer been?? 

    Sorry we have been so busy that we havent been visitng around. As most of you know it is that time of year when you rarely see you friendly local wedding photographer…lol!

    But seriously we realized we needed to get a grip on some things! We got SO busy that our business was taking over our lives. We love what we do but we love and need to have down time, too! So we made some modifications to our business.We set up some business hours (new concept for Mark!) and made some modifications to our wokflow. We set some realistic roll out time schedules… So with a realistic work flow and hiring editing help (our son Brian) we think we  will be able to work and breathe and enjoy life once again! It is not easy to keep work and home schedules from melding together so you have to be intentional!

    With that said we are soooooooooo grateful for the work we have and do not begrudge any of it. We just came to a realization recently that we needed to assess and lighten up Mark’s load so he wasnt carrying too much of the load and after tuning 50 this year we want to make sure he doesnt! So we will be giving ourselves an anual check up as a family and as business owners and even individuals!

     

     

    “Photography to the amateur is recreation.
    To the professional it is work, and hard work
    too, no matter how pleasurable it may be.”
                               
               – Edward Weston

     

    God bless and hope you are all keeping cool and enjoying your summer! 

    IMG_0962

Comments (10)

  • It’s toasty out here.

  • Hi Lydell Family.  I need to catch up soon with your previous posts/slideshows.  I am so glad you posted this because I hit the same dilemna.  My friends/family are complaining about my time or lack of.  So you will have to share the new business plan or have a seminar about it, Mark :) .  It always seems to be a work flow issue with me and getting more automated with the organization of the photos.

    Talk to you soon and take care,

    Robin

  • glad to hear you are taking some time for yourselves… :)    whew… hot and muggy down here in T-Town… how is it up there??  DIL flies out of SMF tomorrow for Hawaii… meetin up with AirForceBoy you is doing his two week thang with the reserves… poor children!  Hawaii!!!  what torture!  LOL 

  • Hey you!!!  I have missed you but completely understand!!!  Love ya, Charlotte

  • Boy, can I relate. I sat down and kept a log of my work hours and they were all over the place. Keeping “8-5″ work hours doesn’t always happen, but aiming for it helps.

    We’re in thick fog around here…and I mean the weather, not my brain. hehe

  • Definitely make some time for yourselves…you deserve it!

  • :wha: Mark isn’t 50 yet? :eek: I thought he was way past fifty…just look at that face! :laugh:

  • Yowser… this one hits home big time! Finding the balance isn’t always easy! It’s good you realize where you’re at and make some modifications. I agree with John (backlightphoto)… take some time for yourselves… you deserve it! Sometimes I have to remind myself to be careful what I pray for because He listens and He listens big time! LOL…! I don’t agree with Randy though. Mark you don’t look a day older than me! LOL!!!! xoxoxoxox ~ Dawn

  • @lastoriafoto - :wave: Oh how I miss you! So happy when I see you have commented! So much going on! But I will save it for when we can sit and chat. My computer is giving me fits! I am barely on! The jack is jacked up so I have to stand on my head at a 40 degree angle with my tongue sticking out or it wont work! Blah!!!!

    Love ya!!!

    Kerri

     

  • @lydellphoto - 

    It’s just God giving you hints to slow down! We all get them!!!! Take some time to find yourself again and it will all fall into place! Love you girlie!!!! ~ Dawn

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *